Reviewers & Editorial Review Board

Directing a high-quality web resource

Mark Edlund

Senior Scientist, Science Museum of Minnesota
Taxon Contributor, This Website

Pat Kociolek

Director, University of Colorado Museum of Natural History
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, CU-Boulder
Taxon Contributor, This Website

Rex Lowe

Professor Emeritus, Bowling Green State University
Taxon Contributor, This Website

Marina Potapova

Assistant Curator, Diatom Herbarium, Academy of Natural Sciences Philadelphia of Drexel University
Taxon Contributor, This Website

Sam Rushforth

Dean, School of Science/Health, Utah Valley University
Taxon Contributor, This Website

Sarah Spaulding

Ecologist, US Geological Survey
Taxon Contributor, This Website

Gene Stoermer

1934 - 2012,
Professor Emeritus, University of Michigan

For 2016, the Editorial Review Board includes Mark Edlund, Pat Kociolek, Rex Lowe, Marina Potapova, Sam Rushforth and Sarah Spaulding.

The role of the board is to maintain the scientific merit of species pages submitted by expert contributors. The members of the board and reviewers guide the content of taxon pages.

Each species page has been reviewed by at least one reviewer or board member before it is posted. The Editorial Review Board is composed of volunteer members, appointed based on an established scientific publication record in diatom taxonomy and systematics. The board helps to develop species pages by recommending species or groups of taxa for inclusion in the database and guides the reviewers. The composition of the board and contributors overlap, but clearly a species page must be reviewed by someone not involved in composing that page.

For more information on the Editorial Review Board and its charter, contact us.